The Longest Day

Since Father’s Day is this weekend, I thought I should share a story about my dad. So many stories… where to start… Something inspirational? Something memorable? Something “awe” worthy? Cute? Romantic?

Nope.

My story is about The Longest Day- the movie and the greatest World War II epic ever. EVER. Period. It’s my dad’s favorite movie of all time. Let me preface by saying I think at the heart of anything my dad does or says is humor. Humor leads to a smile. A smile leads to laughter. Laughter leads to happiness. Happiness leads to hope. Though he’s probably not aware of how profound he can be. He would just say he’s trying to make you laugh. Levity is his silence filler, conversation starter, and cure-all. He’s the kind of dad that laughs at his own jokes, but he laughs so heartily at them that you can’t help but laugh along. If anyone else were to tell that same joke, you would only here crickets chirping, but not my dad. He’d have the whole room in full on giggle mode.

So, when the movie comes on TV every Memorial Day, D-Day anniversary, 4th of July, Veteran’s Day, Patriot Day, Labor Day, and whatever made-up celebration day the TV station wants to have, he is absolutely glued to his rolling chair for all 3 gloriously intense hours- only leaving his primo seat for bathroom breaks and to grab a snack or two and ONLY during commercials. It was one of the first movies my dad got when he bought his Blu-ray player. Not to mention it’s also his most quoted movie. Now, I really can’t blame him for loving this movie. It’s a great movie. It’s a classic and with an all-star cast; John Wayne, Sean Connery, Audie Murphy, and tons more.
IMDb-The Longest Day

There are plenty of memorable scenes from The Longest Day. The paratroopers descending on a French village in the middle of the night, the clueless Ally and German soldiers passing each other with only a three foot tall rock wall separating them- just to name a couple. By far though, my dad’s favorite part is when the French Resistance fighters are sitting in their bunker waiting for their coded message with the “go-ahead” to come through.(Clip from The Longest Day) There’s a whole series of seemingly odd messages that come through the radio during this scene and we sometimes continue it with our own made up coded messages.

Spoken in a French accent…
“Juan has a long mustache”
“The tortilla is burning”
“The grey hair has been plucked”

See. It’s silly. I know. The lines are cheesy and lame and it’s certainly not as funny when I tell them, but we definitely have a great laugh when he does. So this Father’s Day I look forward to spending the day with my dad- telling long stories and sharing bad cheesy jokes that might not mean anything to anyone else, but the people involved and laughing at the end of them all anyway.

Happy Father’s Day to my cheesy and goofy dad. Love ya’!

Leave a Reply

